Arts/History/Museums

 

 

             

The Copper Country was once known as the main producer of copper for the entire world back in it’s heyday.  With the first mine opening in 1845, many immigrants traveled great distances to come and work in the mines until the last one closed around 1960.  

The Keweenaw now tells the story of it’s rich history through many museums and galleries that are housed in buildings dating back to the mid 1800’s when they were first built during the mining era.  Take a step back in time and enjoy learning and seeing the Copper Country history.

View Map
FILTERS
Close

Refine Search

By Category:
By Regions:
By Name:

M-26
Eagle River, MI 49950 US

Region: Eagle River

Donated to the Society in 1998 by the grandsons of blacksmith Amos Bammert, the shop was built in the 1880s at the Cliff Mine location and moved to Phoenix in about 1906. Amos, born in 1863, opera ...
More Info

List of Members

Members found: 39

showing 1 through 1 of 1

showing 1 through 1 of 1

 

       

Something is wrong.
Instagram token error.
Load More
Please read!

This site uses "Cookies" to store limited information required to provide you with a consistent user experience. Click "Show more" for additional information.

Show more Got it!